Losing the baby weight

For me, slow and steady was the way to go. I gained 50 pounds while pregnant with my twins. After having the babies, I waited a long time to step on a scale again.

A couple months later, when I decided I was mentally ready to understand the challenge that lay ahead, I stepped on the scale and I was still 40 pounds above my pre-pregnancy weight.

Once deciding I wanted to start losing the weight, I did a few things:

  • Set a goal a new goal weight on myfitnesspal
  • Decided to gradually lose the weight mainly through diet and minimal exercise (with twin newborns, I didn’t have the time or energy for that!) and set my weekly weight loss goal to 1 pound
  • Started tracking my meals
  • Started taking a long walk (45 min) every day with both babies

After 5 months, I started interviewing for a new job. I was still 15-20 pounds over my goal weight and couldn’t fit into any of my pants. I remember wearing the same maternity jeans and oversized black flowy blouse to every interview.

Going back to work helped with sticking to a strict diet. I joined a facebook exercise/healthy eating group that a friend from high school started. A bunch of the members were making bento box lunches, so I turned to pinterest for inspiration.

I bought these containers on Amazon and they made eating healthy a little more fun.
iKitchenPlus 6-Pack Bento Food Container Set with 3 Compartments

I searched pinterest for inspiration and came up with some healthy grocery lists full of veggies and protein. I packed my lunches for the week on Sunday afternoon, which saved time and made it easier to eat healthy every day.

2015-11-01-14-11-43

My favorite lunch usually included hard boiled eggs, cheese, deli meat, crackers, grapes, cucumbers, carrots, broccoli, and hummus dip.

After going back to work, I did run on the threadmill in our building occasionally — maybe once a week. For me, the exercise was most helpful for relieving stress. And I sometimes find that the more I exercise, the more I eat, and I actually end up gaining weight. I spoke with a few of my “fit” friends and everyone agreed losing weight is 80% diet, so I decided to focus on that.

It took me over a year to get to my goal weight, but I did succeed and with minimal effort. (It did take quite a lot of will power though). I’ve never really dieted much before and being on a diet for an entire year was depressing. It was totally worth it though because now I 100% feel like myself again. And almost 2 years later, I can say that I’ve been able to keep the weight off just fine (even with my old eating habits).

Leave a Reply

